Sunday, July 10, 2011

Elmer Kelton

Red Shuttleworth and Elmer Kelton, 2001

Elmer Kelton (1926-2009), among the greatest writers on the West, was a recipient of seven Spur Awards for novels (including The Day the Cowboys Quit and The Time It Never Rained ) and three Western Heritage Awards.  As early as 1977, with decades of wonderful writing ahead, Kelton received the Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Achievement from Western Writers of America.

No comments:

Post a Comment